The Josephine Hege Award

Phi Beta Kappa Society

JOSEPHINE HEGE FUND was established through a bequest to Phi Beta Kappa at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro from Professor Hege, a member of the UNCG Department of History from 1941 to 1971.  Endowment income from the Hege fund will be awarded annually to a student member of the Epsilon Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

Awards from the Hege Fund may be applied toward study in the liberal arts or toward professional preparation in medicine, law, or other fields.  They may also be used for specific independent study projects such as foreign study or travel.  Awards have typically been in the range of $500 to $2000.  Students may apply during April each year.

Year Recipient(s)
2022 Whitney Bennett
Wallace Robinson
Jaear McClendon
Johanna Vazquez-Rodriguez
Shail Vyas
2021 Maria Esch
Madelyn Fogleman
Hayley Robertson
2020 Christian Cagle
Ekaterina Khokhrina
Julia Whalen
2019 Jessica Miller
Abigail Klima
Ibeabuchi Iloghalu


Andrew G. McBride


Karen Boger
Alexander Nelson
Jordan Peitz
Uyeong Yang
2016 Zachary Blizard
Andrew Byrum
Brooke Hathaway
2015 Alison Castillo
Thomas W. Mitchel
2014 Veronica Allen
Rachel Jodrey
2013 Francisco Martinez-Oronoz
2012 Jessica Dormady
2011 Sonia Parsons Haga
2010 Ashley Churchill Young
2009 Robert Norris
2008 Larissa Jocelyn Mañón
2007 Carolyn Kaye Sanzenbacher
2006 Hannah Aileen Burnette
2005 Sara Elizabeth Thompson
2004 Natalie Olden-Stahl
2003 Katherine Collings,
Alison E. Saulsbury
2002 Jeremiah A. Feducia
2001 Katherine McCarthy,
Toni Nichols
2000 Catherine Revell
1999 Scott Thomason
1998 Christopher John Deloye
1997 Monica Chew
1996 Stephen Michael Ackley-Ortiz
1995 (no award)
1994 James Wayne Davis